Postcard One

John and I in front of the famous Cabo San Lucas Arco in March 2011.

Hola. Bienvenidos. Welcome to the first of what I hope will be many amazing journeys as we see the world together.

(Confession: I don’t actually speak Spanish well. Only un poquito. A little. But since Mexico is one of my favorite places and I’ve visited three times in the past year and a half, I thought it would be a nice way to start my first Postcards & Prose post.)

I’m an obsessive reader and a writer with an itchy foot, so much so that my husband, John, and I get “Wow, you guys travel a lot” from friends and family all the time. They probably think we’re irresponsible spendthrifts, and to be fair…we did go to Myrtle Beach, S.C., and Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, within a few weeks of each other this winter.

But it was cold here in Maryland. We had five ice storms in five weeks this winter. We had to get away and we couldn’t help it. John and I were both born abroad to Army families and moved extensively growing up. Especially John. We’re firmly rooted in Maryland now, but it just doesn’t seem natural to stay in one place for long, so we’ve appeased our wandering genes with travel. A lot of travel.

In learning about the world, we’ve learned a lot about ourselves, and each other. And there’s nothing like taking a trip to make you appreciate home.

Stay tuned for more pictures, video and to learn what it’s like to spend a week trapped in a Mexican resort with hundreds of college kids on Spring Break. Yikes!

This entry was posted in Random Travel Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

