Travel Lust on Pinterest

My favorite photo from Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, which I pinned on my Pinterest travel board.

As a follow-up to my last post, “The Places I Want to See,” I thought I’d mention one of my newest travel inspirations: Pinterest.

If you’ve never used Pinterest, it’s an online pinboard. You can request an account using a Facebook or Twitter username, and then “pin” photos from anywhere on the web, as well as upload your own photos. (Anyone can see them, however, so be careful what you post and check the privacy setting.) You can also repin and comment on your friends’ photos, or really any other photo on Pinterest. Each pin links back to the original site, so the days of bookmarking pages on your computer and then losing everything when the computer dies are done.

It’s good for planning a wedding, collecting recipes, decorating and, of course, travel. The travel category on Pinterest is filled with the most amazing photos of cities, beaches, caves, rocks and landscapes, such as the Twelve Apostles on Australia’s Great Ocean Walk: Eleven (originally 12) massive limestone rocks cluster on the Southern Ocean coast of Australia, eroded by time and water. I had never heard of them before, but thanks to a friend’s pin on Pinterest, they’re on my must-see list if I ever make it to Australia.

I also pinned some photos of Aruba’s Guadirikiri Cave, with its artwork by Arawak Indians, which I hope to visit on my vacation in Aruba in March.

And even if some of the places are too exotic for you, many of the photos are from places like National Geographic and worth checking out for the photography alone. For example, I’m not sure I’ll ever make it to Antarctica (too cold), but I sure pinned some amazing photos that I’m happy to drool over.

To be honest, it’s a little addicting.

You can check out some of my favorite travel photos on Pinterest here: http://pinterest.com/bethc29/travel/.

(February 7: Just a quick update to say that I’m ahead of the curve! Well, ahead of CNN anyway. They just posted Why Pinterest is 2012’s hottest website. I could have told them that!)

This entry was posted in Photoblog, Random Travel Thoughts, Travel Dreams and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Travel Lust on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

