Follow-up to When a Vacation Disappoints

Florence's church of San Lorenzo.

I don’t have many followers (Yet. A girl can always dream!), so when I hear from one, I get excited and I sit up and take notice.

One of my lovely readers, who has her own blog about Italy, mentioned that she never visits Florence during the high season in response to yesterday’s post. I think she’s on to something.

When people asked me how my trip was, that was basically what I said, that I would never, ever go back in the summer, but that I would try the fall or spring. I think that would automatically make it better for any number of reasons:

1. It would be cooler.

2. If it was cooler, the garbage and the dog poop would probably be less obnoxious.

3. Fewer mosquitos. (I had 30 gigantic and painful welts covering my body at once thanks to those little buggers and I had to take Benadryl to stop the itching.)

4. It would be cooler.

5. Smaller crowds.

6. Less trash on the streets thanks to the smaller crowds.

7. It would be cooler.

8. Also, smaller crowds would mean shorter lines to get into main attractions like the Duomo and the Uffizi.

9. I read amazing things about the Tuscan wine and olive harvests in Marlena de Blasi’s A Thousand Days in Tuscany (which I highly recommend, by the way) and I’d love to see them for myself.

10. It would be cooler.

A friend just got back from spending the holidays in Rome, and she said it was wonderful, so I think that might make a huge difference.

I guess I’ll just have to jet off to Italy again sometime soon. If only. If only….

This entry was posted in Europe, Horror Stories, Italy, Random Travel Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Follow-up to When a Vacation Disappoints

  1. Debra Kolkka says:

    I hope you do go back to Italy in the off season. I know I am lucky to be able to go often. I actually love the winter. On a clear winter day Florence sparkles, there are very few tourists and no queues to the Uffizzi etc. Of course, the downside is that it can be wet and cold, but the last couple of winters have been lovely. I will be back there in just over a week- can’t wait. When spring starts to appear it is magical,

Leave a Reply

