Vacationing Alone

Yours truly, alone on an excursion to the Boboli Gardens in Florence.

Have you ever done this? Traveled alone? I have not, but I saw a recent story on it from the Times of India, and it got me thinking.

I almost went on vacation by myself once. Two summers after graduating college, when I was young and single and cool, I was planning a short vacation (really a long-weekend) in Montreal. None of my friends was particularly interested in going, so I thought, why not go by myself? Alas, an unexpected and rather severe illness ruined my plans and I never went. (Come to think of it, I still haven’t made it to Montreal, which is weird because I used to live in Maine and I’ve been to Quebec City. Hmmm….)

In the years since, I’ve gotten married, and at this point in my life, traveling alone on a non-work trip doesn’t make sense. (I have, however, traveled without my husband for a girls’ trip to Mexico.)

I think solitary vacations have a lot of potential, though. After all, you don’t have to do anything you don’t want to do to make another person happy. Like fishing. I always have to go fishing with my husband when we’re on vacation and I hate it. Watching paint dry would be more fun.

I have broken off alone, however, and come to think of it, one of my favorite days on my recent Florence trip was the day I spent wandering the Pitti Palace and the Boboli Gardens and the markets alone. My husband was arriving the next day, and I knew he would have been miserable…almost as miserable as I am fishing.

The only thing about travelling alone that would concern me (other than safety, which is a whole separate issue), would be eating alone in restaurants. I hate to eat alone.

What about you?

This entry was posted in Europe, Italy, Random Travel Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vacationing Alone

  1. Colline says:

    I have travelled alone when I was younger – I spent an entire year away from home and went to London/Paris/Lisbon and the Netherlands. I enjoyed the exploration and the new friends I made. One thing is for sure is that it made me become more independent.

Leave a Reply

